Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail



The Journey of All India Co-ordinate Rice Improvement Project started in 1965, with its head quarters at Rajendranagar, Hyderabad. The pre AICRIP Indian Rice Research system was isolated, in some research establishments and universities. The varied difference of opinion regarding the testing of first semi dwarf rice variety TN(1), in every major rice growing areas of India led to the establishment of first nationally coordinated rice improvement project with a fulltime coordinator. To begin with, AICRIP work was carried out at 22 network centers in 7zones each under the responsibility of a Zonal coordinator. Twelve regional stations viz, Palampur, Pantnagar, Kapurthala, Chinsurah, Sambalpur, Raipur, Maruteru, Karjat, Nawagam, Mandya, Aduthurai and Pattambi were established in the major rice growing states of the Country. Upper Shillong, Kalimpong and Imphal were identified as testing centers.


Considering the Progress and future challenges, during fifth five year plan (1974-79), ICAR provided 23 additional centers, thus raising the number of 45. In order to meet the objective of technology development and evaluation, the AICRIP was elevated as the Directorate of Rice Research (DRR) in April, 1983 with the added mandate of pursing research on irrigated rice for strengthening and stabilizing rice production in the country. During VI plant period (1980-85), 8 more sub centers were sanctioned raising the total to 53. There were total of 61 centers including 8 subject related special centers. In the VII plan period (1985-86 to 1989-90) the number of enters was reduced to 50 (18 main and 32 sub centers). During the VIII plan (1992-97), there were 51 approved centers of which six centers were withdrawn and Karnal center was erged with Kaul in the IX plan period (1997-2002). The total number of centers during X plan (2002-2007) increased to 46 with the approval of Kanpur and Nagina centers and to 47 during XI plan (2007-2012) with addition of Navsari in southern Gujarat in western India. During the ongoing XII plan (2012-2017), two enters viz., Karimganj and Sabour have been withdrawn. So, currently there are 45 funded centers, there are more than 100 voluntary centers where trials were conducted on voluntary basis in each discipline.   


DRR was upgraded to national institute status as ‘Indian Institute of Rice Research (IIRR)’ during the golden jubilee year, from 15th December 2014. The institute activities are aimed at accomplishing the vision, mission and mandate of IIRR keeping in view the “Farmer First” motive of ICAR.



Welfare of the present and future generations to Indian rice farmers and consumers by en suring food and nutritional and Livelihood security


Develop technologies to enhance rice productivity, resource and input use efficiency and profitability of rice cultivation without adverse affect on the environment.


  • To organize, coordinate and monitor multi-location testing at national level to identify appropriate varietal and management technologies for all the rice ecosystems.
  • To conduct basic, strategic, applied and anticipatory research in the major thrust areas of irrigated rice aimed at enhancement of production, productivity and profitability while preserving environmental quality.
  • To develop, organize, coordinate and monitor research networks relating to problems of national and regional importance.
  • To serve as major center for exchange of research material and information.
  • To accelerate the pace of technology transfer through development and adoption of innovative extension training models, self learning modules and through organizing formal training courses, frontline demonstrations, exhibitions, farmers’ day etc.
  • To develop linkages with national, international and private organizations for collaborative research programmes.
  • To provide consultancy services and undertake contractual research.